Egyptian royal cubit

Introduction to the royal cubit

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Eima BLANK
    Keymaster

A couple weeks ago, somebody contacted me on Academia.edu with one question: “could you please tell us a few words about yourself about your passions and interests in megaliths?“. This will be my introduction to the community section of my website.

I graduated in architecture on June 1995 after 3 years research and field work on the architecture of the Batak people of Sumatra, Indonesia. I started my career as an ethnographer and was interrupted in 1998 when the UNESCO pirated the volume 1 of my book.

This piracy was like writing a song and hearing it on the radio signed and sung by somebody else, except that my book was the result of intensive research for 3 full years. I graduated in architecture with it and somebody was removing my name from it. Sadness, depression, brought me to reorganize my research and rewrite a note I had written few years earlier about a Chinese construction manual written during the XVIth century. I was looking for healing and was in a state of mind of deep, very deep concentration. I wrote, made few drawings and while capturing all my souvenirs on paper, I came to find some interesting geometrical features from 4 lines of a Chinese poem.

I did not start my research on the royal cubit by studying megaliths. I started with the geometry of Pi and the meaning in ancient carpentry to build with tools and raw materials. Trying to understand how a traditional carpenter would use the poem, I found a drawing to draw geometric figures properly scaled at both sides of a timber. From there, a carpenter could cut a column. The megalithic architecture is a transposition by ancient builders from wood and straw into the stone and they have used almost the same logics.